MBA is all about the brand name!

Sorry for going into hibernation for sometime.

I have this feeling that some of you out there are looking for MBA just because you are completely fed up with your job. You desperately need a change and so you are ready to go to just “ANY” B-school and grab that “MBA” degree overlooking the quality of the program. Or for some of you, the time is running out and it is – now or never – situation for you. I belong more to the second category and so was thinking of applying to some schools under SAFE category. Now these belong to the – Oh! NEVER heard of that! – schools even for most of the foreign MBA aspirants. But the security to get into a B-school was not letting them off from my shortlist!

Not Any More!! A phone conversation with a dear friend made me realize that MBA is all about the brand name!! Think of spending a 100 grand dollars and then introducing yourself to someone. Then he says – ‘Oh, wow! (does this school exist somewhere?)’ . Ring any bells?

So now I have decided to apply only to the dream and the reach schools and take the risk of getting dinged altogether! :). Touch wood! But there is no point just getting over it if there is no value add to your personality and if it doesn’t provide the launch pad for your career to take off. MBA is a one time activity (for me) and so I better get it done from a school with a collateral life long brand value! Keeping my fingers crossed! I just heard it somewhere – Deserve before you desire. This year is going to be the litmus test! Oh yeah, and thanks Aashish!

8 Responses

  1. Hey,
    Nice to find another passenger in the same boat. Welcome to blogommunity for fall-09 applicants.

    Safety schools are a strange concept for me too. I mean, if you don’t reeaaaaly wanna go to a place, why waste two years of your life, PLUS a considerable effort, PLUS $150K PLUS lost earnings on it?? Brand may not matter for many people, but for me (just like you), it matters aplenty.

  2. I agree with you… I am past 30, & know its peobably already too late for me, but what the heck, i am going to go for it, and only to schools i REALLY REALLY want to go….. so what have you decided? where are u going?

  3. You said it ! Even I’ve been toying with the ‘safe’ school idea, but I think I’d rather include one more reach school than go for safe schools just to feel safe now but in deep waters going forward.

  4. @incarnated : Glad to c ur comment within a couple of hours of publishing this post! You are honored to be the first one to comment on my blog (please take the crown ;)).
    @starwalker : Wow, with your experience, there is no reason for you to even think of safe schools, all reach schools become safe for you!! As of now, Kelley and McCombs remains top on the list!
    @ahembeea : Yeah, that means you are just expanding the scope of getting into a great school! Definitely a better solution to keep the bears away. Hang on!

  5. Interesting way to think about it … I suppose to some extent it depends on the merits of going to a good place instead of a great place?

    But you have got me thinking … which is always welcome!

  6. It’s nice to hear others that echo my decision not to have any “safe” schools. My thought is, you can only do your MBA once, so why not try for the dream schools if you are able to wait a year and apply again if necessary (after feedback)? Of course, it’s different for everyone and safe schools definitely make sense for some people…but it makes me feel better to hear others out there who are like me!! :o)

  7. Idiots..

    Think what is it that you want to do.. and how can the MBA education help you get there.. You won’t be able to hide behind your MBA degree all your life..

    If you can get the necessary “education” (albeit not the same quality) for less some where else.. why plunk down $100K and then keep working for the bank for 8+ years..

  8. […] it safe. Maverick also decided to eschew lower profile schools in order to focus on schools with ‘brand recognition’. Chandara, meanwhile, has two brands on her mind: MGMAT and HBS. After completing her third study […]

Leave a Reply

